The Civil War in the East

C.S.A. - Army of Northern Virginia

Jackson's Command

Major General Thomas J. Jackson


The army corps would not be legally established under Confederate law until the end of October of 1862 so the group of divisions that Jackson commanded was referred to as "Jackson's Command." Jackson still signed his communications "Headquarters, Valley District" but he considered the Army of the Valley to have become a part of the Army of Northern Virginia in August.

Ewell's Division

Brigadier General Jubal A. Early

Early's Brigade

Colonel James A. Walker


Hays' Brigade

Brigadier General Harry T. Hays


Lawton's Brigade

Colonel Edmund N. Atkinson


Trimble's Brigade

Colonel Robert Hoke



Captain Joseph Latimer


A.P. Hill's Light Division

Major General Ambrose P. Hill

Archer's Brigade

Bde. Gen. James J. Archer


Field's Brigade

Colonel John M. Brockenbrough


Gregg's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Maxcy Gregg


Lane's Brigade

Bde. Gen. James H. Lane


Pender's Brigade

Bde. Gen. William D. Pender


Thomas' Brigade

Bde. Gen. Edward L. Thomas



Lt. Colonel Reuben Lindsay Walker


D.H. Hill's Division

Major General Daniel Harvey Hill

Colquitt's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred H. Colquitt


Doles' Brigade

Bde. Gen. George P. Doles


Grimes' Brigade

Colonel Bryan Grimes


Iverson's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred Iverson


Rodes' Brigade

Bde. Gen. Robert E. Rodes



Major Hilary P. Jones


Jackson's Division

Brigadier General William B. Taliaferro

Stonewall Brigade

Bde. Gen. Elisha F. Paxton


Jones' Brigade

Bde. Gen. John R. Jones


Starke's Brigade

Colonel Edmund Pendleton


Taliaferro's Brigade

Colonel Edward T. H. Warren



Captain John B. Brockenbrough


Jackson's Reserve Artillery

Colonel Stapleton Crutchfield

1st Virginia Artillery Battalion

Colonel J. Thompson Brown


Jones' Artillery Battalion

Major Hilary P. Jones


Nelson's Artillery Battalion

Major William Nelson


Sumter Georgia Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel Allen S. Cutts


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks