The Civil War in the East


Army of Northern Virginia

Major General Gustavus W. Smith (6/1)

General Robert E. Lee (from 6/1)


On June 1, 1862, General Robert E. Lee took over the army from General Joseph E. Johnston, wounded in the Battle of Seven Pines (or Glendale) on May 31, and Major General Gustavus Smith, who had taken over as Johnston's second in command but whose health, already poor, broke down completely under the responsibility of army command.


After Seven Pines McClellan halted his advance against Richmond and dug in to defensive positions. This gave Lee several weeks to get the feel for and reorganize his new command. On June 26 Lee attacked in what would be known as the Seven Days battles, throwing McClellan back from Richmond and destroying his will to fight, if not his army.

Longstreet's Command

Major General James Longstreet

A. P. Hill's Division

Major General Ambrose Powell Hill

from Unattached Div. (below) 6/29

D.H. Hill's Division

Major General Daniel Harvey Hill

from Unattached Div. (below) 6/22

Huger's Division

Major General Benjamin Huger

from Unattached Div. (below)

Longstreet's Division

Brigadier General Richard H. Anderson


Jackson's Command

Major General Thomas J. Jackson

arrived 6/25 from Valley District

Ewell's Division

Major General Richard S. Ewell


Jackson's Division

Major General Thomas J. Jackson


Magruder's Command

Major General John B. Magruder

Jones' Division

Brigadier General David R. Jones


Magruder's Division

Brigadier General Howell Cobb


McLaws' Division

Major General Lafayette McLaws



A.P. Hill's Division

Major General Ambrose Powell Hill

to Longstreet's Command (above) 6/29

Andrson's Brigade

Brigadier General J.R. Anderson


Archer's Brigade

Brigadier General James J. Archer

from Whiting's Division 6/11

Branch's Brigade

Brigadier General L. O'Brien Branch


Field's Brigade

Brigadier General Charles W. Field


Gregg's Brigade

Brigadier General Maxcey Gregg


D. H. Hill's Division

Major General Daniel Harvey Hill

to Longstreet's Command (above) 6/22

Early's Brigade

Brigadier General Jubal A. Early


Featherston'e Brigade

Brigadier General Winfield S. Featherston


Rains' Brigade

Brigadier General Gabriel J. Rains


Rodes' Brigade

Brigadier General Robert E. Rodes


Huger's Division

Major General Benjamin Huger

to Longstreet's Command (above)

First Brigade

Bde. Gen. William Mahone


Second Brigade

Bde. Gen. Ambrose R. Wright


Third Brigade

Bde. Gen. Lewis A. Armistead


Ransom's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Robert Ransom

from Holmes' Division

Holmes' Division

Major General Theophilus H. Holmes


First Brigade

Colonel Junius Daniel


Second Brigade

Bde. Gen. John George Walker


Wise's Command

Bde. Gen. Henry A. Wise


Bde. Gen. W.H.C. Whiting

to Valley District 6/11

Hood's Brigade

Bde. Gen. John B. Hood


Whiting's Brigade

Bde. Gen. W.H.C. Whiting


Cavalry Brigade

Bde. Gen. James E. B. Stuart


1st North Carolina Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Laurence S. Baker


1st Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Fitzhugh Lee


3rd Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Thomas F. Goode


4th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Lt. Colonel Williams C. Wickham


5th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Thomas L. Rosser


9th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel W. H. F. Lee


10th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel James L. Davis


Cobb's (Ga.) Legion Cavalry

Colonel Thomas R.R. Cobb


Hampton Legion (SC) Cavalry

Major Matthew C. Butler


Jefferson Davis (Ms.) Legion

Lt. Colonel William T. Martin


Stuart Horse Artillery

Captain John Pelham


Artillery Reserve

Brigadier General William N. Pendleton

First Virginia Artillery Battalion

Colonel J. Thompson Brown


Nelson's Artillery Battalion

Major William Nelson


Richardson's Artillery Battalion

Major Charles Richardson


Sumter Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel Allen S. Cutts


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks