The Civil War in the East


Army of Northern Virginia

General Robert E. Lee


Lee sent Jackson's Command north to block Pope's advance, then followed with Longstreet's Command. Gustavus Smith returned from his sick leave and was left with three divisions to watch McClellan on the Peninsula. After McClellan evacuated his army from the Richmond area the three divisions were brought north and assigned to Longstreet and Jackson at beginning of the Maryland Campaign.

Longstreet's Command

Major General James Longstreet

Anderson's Division

Major General Richard Anderson


Hood's (Whiting's) Division

Brigadier General John B. Hood


D. R. Jones' Division

Major Genral David R. Jones


Kemper's Division

Brigadier General James Kemper

from Longstreet's Div. 8/20; to Jones' Div.

Wilcox's Division

Brigadier General Cadmus Wilcox

from Longstreet's Div. 8/20; to Anderson's Div.

Evan's Independent Brigade

Bde. Gen. Nathan G. Evans


Artillery Reserve

Colonel James B. Walton


Jackson's Command

Major General Thomas J. Jackson

Ewell's Division

Maj. Gen. Richard S. Ewell (w 8/29)

Bde. Gen. Alexander R. Lawton


A.P. Hill's Division

Maj. Gen. Ambrose Powell Hill


Jackson's Division

Bde. Gen. William B. Taliaferro (w 8/30)
Bde. Gen. W.E. Starke


Robertson's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Beverly Robertson

to Cavalry Division 8/17

Smith's Command

Major General Gustavus Smith (from 8/14)

at Richmond

Anderson's Division

Major General Richard Anderson

at Drewry's Bluff; to Longstreet's Command

D. H. Hill's Division

Major General Daniel Harvey Hill

to Jackson's Commmand

McLaws' Division

Major General Lafayette McLaws

to Longstreet's Command

Cavalry Division

Major General James E. B. Stuart

Hampton's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Wade Hampton

at Richmond

Lee's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Fitzhugh Lee


Robertson's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Beverly Robertson

from Jackson's Command 8/17

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks