The Civil War in the East


Army of Northern Virginia

General Robert E. Lee


The Third Army Corps under Lt. Gen. A.P. Hill was created on June 1 by transferring Anderson's Division from the First Corps and A.P. Hill's Division from the Second Corps. The army began its invasion of the North, fighting actions at Brandy Station and Winchester.

First Corps

Lieutenant General James Longstreet

Hood's Division

Major General John B. Hood


McLaws' Division

Major General Lafayette McLaws


Pickett's Division

Major General George Pickett


Artillery Reserve

Colonel James B. Walton


Second Corps

Lieutenant General Richard S. Ewell

Early's Division

Major General Jubal A. Early


Johnson's Division

Major General Edward Johnson


Rodes' Division

Major General Robert E. Rodes


Artillery Reserve

Colonel John T. Brown


Third Corps

Lieutenant General Ambrose Powell Hill

created 6/1

Anderson's Division

Major General Richard H. Anderson

from 1st Corps

Heth's Division

Major General Henry Heth

from A.P. Hill's Div., 2nd Corps

Pender's Division

Major General William D. Pender


Artillery Reserve

Colonel Reuben L. Walker


Cavalry Division

Major James E. B. Stuart

Hampton's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Wade Hampton


F. Lee's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Fitzhugh Lee


W.H.F. Lee's Brigade

Bde. Gen. W. H. F. Lee


Jones' Brigade

Bde. Gen. William E. Jones


Jenkins' Brigade

Bde. Gen. Albert G. Jenkins


Robertson's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Beverly H. Robertson


Imboden's Command

Bde. Gen. John Imboden

from w. Va. early June

Stuart Horse Artillery

Major Robert F. Beckham


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks