The Civil War in the East

Army of the Valley

Lieutenant General Jubal A. Early


Wharton's Division

Brig. Gen. Gabriel C. Wharton

Echol's Brigade

Lt. Colonel John C. McDonald

detached to Dept. SW Virginia

Smith's Brigade

Colonel Thomas Smith


Wharton's Brigade

Major Peter Otey



Brig. Gen. Armistead L. Long

King's Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel J. Floyd King


MacLaughlin's Artillery Battalion

Major William MacLaughlin


Nelson's Artillery Battalion

Colonel Wiliam Nelson (absent)


Lomax's Cavalry Division

Maj. Gen. Lunsford Lomax

to west of the Valley to subsist

Imboden's Brigade

Colonel George H. Smith


Jackson's Brigade

Colonel William L. Jackson


McCausland's Brigade

Brig. Gen. John McCausland


Rosser's Cavalry Division

Maj. Gen. Thomas L. Rosser

men disbanded to their homes for the winter

Payne's Brigade

Brig. Gen. William H.F. Payne


Rosser's Brigade



Wickham's Brigade



Official Records, Series 1, vol. 43 Part 2 p. 951

Official Records, Series 1, vol. 46Part 2 p. 1184

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks