The Civil War in the East


Army of the Valley District

Major General Thomas J. Jackson


The Battle of Port Republic on June 9 defeated the last Union pursuers in the Shenandoah Valley. From June 18 - 25 Jackson moved his command from the Shenandoah Valley to reinforce Lee at Richmond. After this point the command was operationally Jackson's Command of the Army of Northern Virginia.

Ewell's Division

Major General Richard S. Ewell


Second (Steuart's) Brigade

Colonel W. C. Scott (6/1-6/3 & 6/8-6/9)

Brig. Gen. George H. Steuart (6/4-w 6/8)

dissolved 6/9

Fourth (Elzey's) Brigade

Brig. Gen. Arnold Elzey (w 6/8)

Colonel James A. Walker


Seventh (Trimble's) Brigade

Brig. Gen. Isaac Trimble


Eighth (Taylor's) Brigade

Brig. Gen. Richard Taylor



Major R. Snowden Andrews


Jackson's Division

Major General Thomas J. Jackson

First (Stonewall) Brigade

Brig. Gen. Charles S. Winder


Second (Campbell's) Brigade

Colonel John M. Patton


Third (Taliaferro's) Brigade

Brig. Gen. William B. Taliaferro


Fourth (Lawton's) Brigade

Brig. Gen. Alexander R. Lawton

from Georgia mid-June


Brig. Gen. Turner Ashby (k 6/6)

to Robertson's Brigade (below)


Major R. Snowden Andrews


Whiting's Division

Maj. Gen. William H.C. Whiting

from Richmond 6/11

Hood's Brigade

Brig. Gen. John B. Hood


Law's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Evander Law


Cavalry Brigade

Brig. Gen. Beverly Robertson (from 6/9)

created 6/9

2nd Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Thomas T. Munford

from Ewell's Division Cavalry

6th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Julien Harrison

from Ewell's Division Cavalry

7th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel William E. Jones

from Jackson's Division

12th Virginia Cavalry Regiment

Colonel Asher W. Harman

formed from 7th Virginia Cavalry

17th Virginia Cavalry Battalion

Major William Patrick

formed from 7th Virginia Cavalry

Chew's Battery

Captain R. Preston Chew

from Ewell's Division Cavalry

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks