The Civil War in the East

U.S. Army

Department of West Virginia

Major General David Hunter


First Infantry Division

Brig. Gen. J.C. Sullivan (to 7/3)

Brig. Gen. George Crook (7/3- 7/22)

Brig. Gen. Joseph Thoburn


First Brigade

Colonel George D. Wells


Second Brigade

Colonel Joseph Thoburn (to 7/22)

Colonel William G. Ely


Third Brigade

Colonel J.M. Campbell


created 7/64 from 3rd Div. (below)

Second Infantry Division

Brig. Gen. George Crook (to 7/3)

Colonel Issac H. Duval


First Brigade

Colonel Rutherford B. Hayes


Second Brigade

Colonel Carr B. White

Colonel Daniel D. Jonhson


Third Brigade

Colonel J.M. Campbell

to 1st Div., 3rd Brig. (above)

Third Division

Colonel James A. Mulligan (k 7/24)

to 1st Inf. Div., 3rd Brigade (above)

First Brigade

Colonel Thomas A. Harris

from Reserve Division

Second Brigade

Lt. Colonel J.P. Linton

from 2nd Inf. Div., 3rd Brig. (above)

First Cavalry Division

Brigadier General A.N. Duffie


First Brigade

Colonel W.B. Tibbetts

Colonel R.F. Taylor


Second Brigade

Colonel J.E. Wynkoop (to 7/22)

Colonel J. Higgins (to 7/30)

Colonel A. J. Greenfield


Second Cavalry Division

Brigadier General W.W. Averill


First Brigade

Colonel J.M. Schoonmaker


Second Brigade

Colonel J.H. Oley

broken up

Third Brigade

Colonel W.H. Powell

redesignated 2nd Brig.

Reserve Division Harpers Ferry

Major General Franz Sigel (to 7/8)

Brig. Gen. Albion Howe


Monocacy to Sleepy Hollow



West of Sleepy Hollow

Brigadier General B.F. Kelly


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks