The Civil War in the East

New York Infantry (see New York Cavalry and Artillery)

New York had an extensive militia system before the war, and after the outbreak of fighting in April, 1861 it authorized the creation of 38 regiments of volunteer militia. At first these were to be organized into four divisions and nine brigades commanded by general officers appointed by the state, but the War Department refused to recognize generals not appointed by the President. Regiments were thus accepted into Federal service and placed into brigades and divisions with units from other states.


The original New York organizations that left the state in 1861 were a mixture of volunteer infantry and state militia. Later in the year some militia units that continued on in Federal serice were given a state numeric designation, usually diifferent from their militia number. This led to some confusion and controversy. For example, the 14th New York State Militia fought heroically at Bull Run, and when they were redesignated the 84th Infantry they protested, and fought to retain their famous militia identy.


In April of 1862 legislation changed the designation of the armed and uniformed 'Militia' to 'National Guard.'

Infantry Regiments
1 - 49

Infantry Regiments
50 - 99

Infantry Regiments
100 - 149

Infantry Regiments
150 - 193

National Guard

(originally 20th Militia)

(originally 2nd Militia)

(originally 9th Militia)

(originally 19th Militia)

2nd State Militia
(see 82nd Infantry)

3rd State Militia
(see 3rd Infantry)

9th State Militia
see 83rd Infantry)

10th State Militia*
(see 177th Infantry)

(see 84th Infantry)

(also 168th Infantry)

20th State Militia
(see 80th Infantry)

*The 6th, 53rd, 161st, 174th, 177th and 194th Infantry served outside the eastern theater.

**The 166th, 167th, 171st, 172nd, 180th, 181st, 183rd, 190th, and 191st did not complete organization.

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks