United States Army > Army of the Potomac

May 1862 • to June >

Commanded by Brigadier General Fitz John Porter

After the original 5th Corps was discontinued and merged into the Department of the Shenandoah on April 4, 1862 a new 5th Corps was formed on May 18, 1862. The 1st Division was taken from the 1st Division of the 3rd Corps. Most of the 2nd Division came from the Army of the Potomac’s Infantry Reserve, made up of United States Regulars. The army’s Artillery Reserve was also transferred to the 5th Corps.

First Division Brigadier General George W. Morrell
First Brigade Brigadier General J. H. Martindale
Second Brigade Colonel James McQuade
Third Brigade Brigadier General Daniel Butterfield
Second Division Brigadier General George Sykes
First Brigade Lieutenant Colonel R. C. Buchanan
Second Brigade Lieutenant Colonel William Chapman
Third Brigade Colonel G. K. Warren
Artillery Reserve
First Brigade Horse Artillery From Army Artillery Reserve
Second Brigade From Army Artillery Reserve
Third Brigade From Army Artillery Reserve
Fourth Brigade from Middle Department
Fifth Brigade From Army Artillery Reserve