United States Army > Army of the Potomac

< to August • September 1862 • to October >

Commanded by Major General William B. Franklin

The First Division, Fourth Corps was attached on September 13th 1862, and on September 26th was redesignated as the Third Division, Sixth Army Corps.

First Division Brigadier General Henry Slocum
First Brigade Colonel A. T. A. Torbert
Second Brigade Brigadier General J. J. Bartlet
Third Brigade Brigadier General John Newton
Colonel R. Matthewson
Second Division Brigadier General W. F. Smith
First Brigade Brig. Gen. Winfield S. Hancock (to 9/17)
Colonel Amasa Cobb (9/17 – 9/25)
Brig. Gen. C. E. Pratt
Second Brigade Brigadier General W. T. H. Brooks
Third Brigade Colonel E. Von Vegersack (to 9/25)
Brig. Gen. Francis L. Vinton
First Division, Fourth Corps Major General Darius Couch
First Brigade Brig. Gen. Charles Devens Jr. temporarily attached 9/13
permanently assigned as 3rd Division 9/26
Second Brigade Brig. Gen. Albion P. Howe
Third Brigade Brig. Gen. John Cochrane