The Civil War in the East

C.S.A. - Army of Northern Virginia - Jackson's Command

Jackson's Reserve Artillery

Colonel Stapleton Crutchfield


1st Virginia Artillery Battalion

Colonel J. Thompson Brown

2nd Richmond (Va.) Howitzers

Captain David Watson


3rd Richmond (Va.) Howitzers

Captain Benjamin H. Smith Jr.


Powhattan (Va.) Artillery

Captain Willis J. Dance


Salem (Va.) Flying Artillery

Captain Abraham Hupp

Hupp returned home in Oct. due to cancer

Williamsburg (Va.) Artillery

Captain John A. Coke

Disbanded 10/4*

Sumter (Ga.) Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel Allen S. Cutts

Sumter (Ga.) Artillery, Battery A

Captain Hugh M. Ross


Sumter (Ga.) Artillery, Battery B

Captain George M. Patterson


Sumter (Ga.) Artillery, Battery D

Captain James A. Blackshear


Sumter (Ga.) Artillery, Battery E

Captain John Lane


Nelson's Artillery Battalion

Major William Nelson

Milledge's Regular (Ga.) Battery

Captain John Milledge


1st Fluvanna (Va.) Artillery

Captain Charles T. Huckstep


2nd Fluvanna (Va.) Artillery

Captain John J. Ancell


Amhearst (Va.) Artillery

Captain Thomas J. Kirkpatrick


Johnson's Richmond (Va.) Battery

Captain Marmaduke Johnston


Jones' Artillery Battalion

Major Hilary P. Jones

Long Island (Va.) Battery

Captain Abram Wimbish


Morris' Louisa (Va.) Artillery

Captain Richard C. M. Page


Richmond Orange (Va.) Artillery

Captain Jefferson Peyton


Wise Legion (Va.) Artillery

Captain William H. Turner

Disbanded 10/4*



Dixie (Va.) Artillery

Captain William H. Chapman

Disbanded 10/4*

Yorktown 'Magruder' (Va.) Artillery

Captain Thomas J. Page


*Batteries disbanded by Special Order #209

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks