The Civil War in the East

C.S.A. - Army of Northern Virginia - Longstreet's Right Wing

Wilcox's Division

Brigadier General Cadmus M. Wilcox


With Longstrteet in command of the army's Right Wing in July of 1862,, his division of six brigades was temporarily split into two divisions of three brigades each commanded by the two senior brigadier generals, James Kemper and Cadmus Wilcox. Wilcox's Division was merged into into Anderson's Division at the beginning of September.

Featherston's Brigade

Brigadier General Winfield S. Featherston

to Anderson's Division

2nd Mississippi Infantry Battalion

Major William S. Wilson


12th Mississippi Infantry Regiment

Colonel William H. Taylor


16th Mississippi Infantry Regiment

Colonel Carnot Posey


19th Mississippi Infantry Regiment

Colonel Nathaniel H. Harris


Pryor's Brigade

Brigadier General Roger A. Pryor

to Anderson's Division

14th Alabama Infantry Regiment

Major James A. Broome


2nd Florida Infantry Regiment

Colonel William D. Ballantine


5th Florida Infantry Regiment

Colonel John C. Hately


8th Florida Infantry Regiment

Lt. Colonel George A. C. Coppens


3rd Virginia Infantry Regiment

Colonel Joseph Mayo


Wilcox's Brigade

Brigadier General Cadmus Wilcox

to Anderson's Division

8th Alabama Infantry Regiment

Lt. Colonel Hilary A. Herbert


9th Alabama Infantry Regiment

Major Jere H. J. Williams


10th Alabama Infantry Regiment

Major John H. Caldwell


11th Alabama Infantry Regiment

Captain John C. C. Sanders


Saunders' Artillery Battalion

Major John S. Saunders

to Anderson's Division

Donaldsonville (La.) Artillery

Captain Victor Maurin


Dixie (Va.) Artillery

Captain William H. Chapman


Thomas (Va.) Artillery

Captain EdwinJ. Anderson


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks