The Civil War in the East

C.S.A. - Army of Northern Virginia

Second Army Corps

Lieutenant General Thomas J. Jackson (promoted from Major General 11/9)


The Confederate Congress passed legislation at the end of October allowing the creation of army corps. The Second Army Corps was established from Jackson's Command November 6, 1862

Ewell's Division

Brigadier General Jubal A. Early

Early's Brigade

Colonel James A. Walker


Hays' Brigade

Brigadier General Harry T. Hays


Lawton's Brigade

Colonel Edmund N. Atkinson


Trimble's Brigade

Colonel Robert Hoke



Captain Joseph Latimer


A.P. Hill's Light Division

Major General Ambrose Powell Hill

Archer's Brigade

Bde. Gen. James J. Archer


Field's Brigade

Colonel John M. Brockenbrough


Gregg's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Maxcy Gregg


Lane's (Branch's) Brigade

Bde. Gen. James H. Lane (from 11/6)


Pender's Brigade

Bde. Gen. William D. Pender


Thomas' (J.R. Anderson's) Brigade

Bde. Gen. Edward L. Thomas (from 11/6)



Lt. Colonel Reuben Lindsay Walker


D.H. Hill's Division

Major General Daniel Harvey Hill

Colquitt's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred H. Colquitt


Doles' (Ripley's) Brigade

Bde. Gen. George P. Doles (from 11/6)


Iverson's (Garland's) Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred Iverson (from 11/6)


Ramseur's (G.T. Anderson's) Brigade

Bde. Gen. Stephen Ramseur (from 11/6)


Rodes' Brigade

Bde. Gen. Robert E. Rodes



Major Hilary P. Jones


Jackson's Division

Brigadier General William B. Taliaferro

Stonewall Brigade

Colonel Andrew J. Grigsby

Bde. Gen. Elisha F. Paxton (from 11/6)


Jones' Brigade

Bde. Gen. John R. Jones


Starke's Brigade

Colonel Edmund Pendleton


Taliaferro's Brigade

Colonel Edward T. H. Warren



Captain John B. Brockenbrough


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks