The Civil War in the East

C.S.A. - Army of Northern Virginia

Second Army Corps

Lieutenant General Thomas J. Jackson


Early's Division

Major General Jubal A. Early

Early's Brigade

Colonel James A. Walker


Hays' Brigade

Brigadier General Harry T. Hays


Hoke's Brigade

Brigadier General Robert Hoke


Lawton's Brigade

Colonel Edmund N. Atkinson



Captain Joseph Latimer


A.P. Hill's Light Division

Major General Ambrose Powell Hill

Archer's Brigade

Bde. Gen. James J. Archer


Field's/Heth's Brigade

Colonel John M. Brockenbrough (to 3/5)

Bde. Gen. Henry Heth


Lane's Brigade

Bde. Gen. James H. Lane


McGowan's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Samuel McGowan


Pender's Brigade

Bde. Gen. William D. Pender


Thomas' Brigade

Bde. Gen. Edward L. Thomas



Lt. Colonel Reuben Lindsay Walker


D.H. Hill's Division

Brigadier General Robert E. Rodes

Colquitt's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred H. Colquitt


Doles' Brigade

Bde. Gen. George P. Doles


Iverson's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Alfred Iverson


Ramseur's Brigade

Bde. Gen. Stephen Ramseur


Rodes' Brigade

Colonel Edward A. O'Neal



Lt. Colonel Thomas H. Carter


Trimble's (Jackson's) Division*

Brigadier General Raleigh Colston

Colston's (Taliaferro's) Brigade

Colonel Edward T. H. Warren


Jones' Brigade

Bde. Gen. John R. Jones


Starke's Brigade

Colonel Edmund Pendleton


Stonewall Brigade

Bde. Gen. Elisha F. Paxton



Captain John B. Brockenbrough


Artillery Reserve

Colonel Stapleton Crutchfield


1st Virginia Artillery Battalion

Colonel John Thompson Brown


McIntosh 's Artillery Battalion

Major David G. McIntosh


*Although Isaac Trimble had been promoted to Major General and was assigned to the Second Corps in expectation of taking over Jackson's Division, he had still not recovered from his wound and would never take command and would remain under its senior brigadier until after Chancellorsville. It was still frequently referred to as "Trimble's Division"

About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks