The Civil War in the East

Army of the Valley

Lieutenant General Jubal A. Early


On September 14 Kershaw's Division left to return to the Army of Northern Virginia. The Third Battle of Winchester on Setember 19 and Battle of Fisher's Hill on Setember 22 caused heavy casualties to Early's army. On Setember 21 John Breckinridge was ordered to leave the army to resume his command of the Department of Western Tennessee and West Virginia. The informal corps structure was abandoned and all divisions reprorted directly to Early. On 9/26 Kershaw's Division returned to the Valley after the defeat at Third Winchester. After Robert Rodes was killed at Third Winchester, Stephen Dodson Ramseur was transferred to command of Rodes' Division and his place was taken by John Pegram.

Breckinridge's Command (dissolved 9/21)

Major General John C. Breckinridge (to Dept. of W. TN & W VA 9/21)

Gordon's Division

Major General John B. Gordon


Evans' Brigade

Brig. Gen. Clement Evans


Louisiana Brigade



Terry's Virginia Brigade

Brig. Gn. William Terry


Wharton's Division

Brigadier General Gabriel Wharton


Echols' Brigade

Colonel George S. Patton (mw 9/19)


Wharton's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Gabriel C. Wharton


Smith's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Thomas Smith

Colonel Augustus Forsberg



Early's Command

Lieutenant General Jubal A. Early

Kershaw's Division

Major General Joseph B. Kershaw

to Army Northern Virginia 9/14; returned 9/26

Bryan's Brigade

Colonel James P. Simms


Conner's Brigade

Major James M. Groggin


Humphrey's Brigade

Colonel Daniel M. Moody


Wofford's Brigade

Colonel Christopher C. Sanders


Rodes' Division

Major General Robert E. Rodes (k 9/19)

Major General Stephen D. Ramseur

Battle's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Cullen A. Battle

Colonel Samuel Pickens


Cook's Brigade

Colonel Philip Cook


Cox's Brigade

Brig. Gen. William R. Cox


Grimes Brigade

Brig. Gen. Bryan Grimes


Ramseur's Divison

Major General Stephen D. Ramseur (to 9/20)

Brig. Gen. John Pegram

Godwin's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Archibald C. Godwin (k 9/19)

Lt. Colonel William T. Davis


Johnston's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Robert D. Johnston


Pegram's Brigade

Brig. Gen. John Pegram (^ 9/20)

Colonel John S. Hoffman



Lt. Colonel J. Floyd King

Braxton's Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel Carter Braxton


McLaughlin's Artillery Battalion

Major William McLaughlin


Nelson's Artillery Battalion

Lt. Colonel Wiliam Nelson


Lomax's Cavalry Division

Maj. Gen. Lumsford Lomax


Imboden's Brigade

Colonel George H. Smith


Jackson's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Henry B. Davidson


Johnson's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Bradley Johnson


McCausland's Brigade

Brig. Gen. John McCausland


Lee's Cavalry Division

Maj. Gen. Fitzhugh Lee

Maj. Gen. Thomas L. Rosser


Payne's Brigade

Brig. Gen. William H.F. Payne


Rosser's Brigade



Wickham's Brigade

Brig. Gen. Thomas L. Rosser


About the Author • ©2015 Steve Hawks