Confederate Regiments & Batteries

this section is under construction
*= linked page under construction

Ten regiments of North Carolina State Troops, numbering 1st to 10th, were organised to serve during the war on 8 May, 1861, and thirteen regiments of volunteers for twelve months service were authorised, numbering 1st to 8th and 10th to 14th on 10 May, 1861. Special Orders No.222, Adjutant and Inspector General’s Office, Richmond, Henrico County, Virginia, 14 November, 1861, authorised the original ten regiments of state troops to keep their numbering and the volunteers to be redesignated. All units were subsequently known as North Carolina State Troops.

Infantry Regiments

1st • 2nd • 3rd • 4th • 5th 6th • 7th8th

11th • 12th • 13th 14th* • 15th16th*17th* • 18th

20th21st*22nd*23rd • 24th 25th*26th* • 27th* • 28th


42nd*43rd*44th 45th*46th*47th48th*49th


61st66thThomas Legion

The 9th, 19th, 41st, 59th, 63rd, 65th, and 69th became cavalry.
The 10th, 36th, and 40th became artillery.
Others that are not listed did not serve in Virginia.

Infantry Battalions

1st Battalion Sharpshooters • 2nd Battalion6th Battalion


1st Cavalry Regiment 2nd Cavalry Regiment*3rd Cavalry Regiment*4th Cavalry Regiment5th Cavalry Regiment

12th Cavalry Battalion*16th Cavalry Battalion*


1st Regiment: Company  A (Ellis)* • Company C (Charlotte)* • Company D (Rowan)* • Company E (Wilmington)*
2nd Regiment: Company I*
3rd Regiment: Company G* • Company H (Branch)*
13th Battalion: Company C* •  Company F*
Branch Artillery*