United States Armies in the East > Department of the Rappahannock

April 1862 • to May >

Commanded by Major General Irvin McDowell

The Department of the Rappahannock was created on April 4, 1862, to consist of Virginia “east of the Blue Ridge and west of the Potomac River, the Fredericksburg and Richmond Railroad, including the District of Columbia and the country between the Potomac and the Petuxent Rivers.” The First Corps was detached from the Army of the Potomac and used as the core of troops in the department and the Military District of Washington was transferred from the Army of the Potomac.

First Division Brigadier General W. B. Franklin
1st Brigade Brig. Gen. Philip Kearney from Army of the Potomac
1st Corps, 1st Division
2nd Brigade Brig. Gen. Henry W. Slocum
3rd Brigade Brig. Gen. John Newton
Second Division Brigadier General George McCall
1st Brigade Brig. Gen. John F. Reynolds from Army of the Potomac
1st Corps, 2nd Division
2nd Brigade Brig. Gen. George Meade
3rd Brigade Brig. Gen. Edward O. C. Ord
Third Division Brigadier General Rufus King
1st Brigade Brig. Gen. C. C. Augur
2nd Brigade Brig. Gen. Marsena Patrick
3rd Brigade Colonel Lysander Cutler
Military District of Washington Brig. Gen. James Wadsworth from Army of the Potomac