United States Army

June 1862 • to July >

Commanded by Major General John Pope

Created June 26, 1862 from the Department of the Shenandoah, Department of the Rappahannock, Mountain Department, and Sturgis’ Division of the Military District of Washington

First Corps Major General John C. Fremont (6/26 – 6/28)
Brigadier General Robert C. Schenck (6/28 – 6/30)
Major General Franz Siegel (after 6/30)
First Division Brig. Gen. Robert C. Schenck
Second Division Brig. Gen. A. Von Steinwehr
Third Division Brig. Gen. Carl Schurz from Mountain Department
Milroy’s Independent Brigade Brig. Gen. R. Milroy
Cavalry Brigade Colonel John Beardsley
Second Corps Major General Nathaniel P. Banks
First Division Brig. Gen. Alpheus Williams
Second Division Brig. Gen. James Cooper from Dept. Shenandoah
Cavalry Brigade Brig. Gen. John P. Hatch
Third Corps Major General Irvin McDowell
First Division Brig. Gen. Rufus King from Dept. Rappahannock
Second Division Brig. Gen. John B. Ricketts
Cavalry Brigade Brig. Gen. George D. Bayard