Confederate Regiments & Batteries in the Eastern Theater

Like its Northern opponent, the Confederate army was mostly made up of volunteer regiments of infantry and cavalry provided by individual Southern states. Each of the eleven Southern states sent units to protect the capital of the Confederacy. The nearby and well-populated states of Virginia and North Carolina provided the majority while only a small number made it from distant and less populated states such as Texas, Arkansas and Florida. There were even a few units from Maryland and Kentucky, slave states that had remained in the Union and who provided units to both sides throughout the war.


Arkansas • Alabama • Florida • Georgia • Kentucky • Louisiana • Maryland

Mississippi • North Carolina • South Carolina • Tennessee • Texas • Virginia
(some states still under construction)