Confederate States Army

< to March • April 1865

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

Most of the organized survivors of the army surrendered at Appomattox Court House on April 9, 1865. Some cavalry units escaped, but disbanded over the next few days.

First Corps Lieutenant General James Longstreet
Field’s Division Major General Charles W. Field
Kershaw’s Division Major General Joseph B. Kershaw (c 4/6) destroyed 4/6
Pickett’s Division Major General George E. Pickett destroyed 4/1 & 4/6
Reserve Artillery Brigadier General E.P. Alexander
Second Corps Major General John B. Gordon
Early’s Division Brigadier General  James A. Walker
Gordon’s Division Brigadier General Clement A. Evans
Grimes’ Division Major General Brian Grimes
Reserve Artillery Brigadier General Armistead Long
Third Corps Lieutenant General Ambrose Powell Hill (k 4/2)
Heth’s Division Major General Henry Heth
Mahone’s Division Major General William Mahone
Wilcox’s Division Major General Cadmus Wilcox
Reserve Artillery Colonel R. Lindsay Walker
Anderson’s Corps Lieutenant General Richard H. Anderson (rel. 4/8)
Johnson’s Division Major General Bushrod R. Johnson
Brigadier General William H. Wallce
Artillery Reserve Colonel Hilary P. Jones
Cavalry Corps Major General Fitzhugh Lee 
F. Lee’s Division Colonel Thomas Munford
W.H.F. Lee’s Division Major General William H. F. Lee
Rosser’s Division Major General Thomas Rosser
Stuart Horse Artillery Lieutenant Colonel R. Preston Chew