Confederate States Army

< to November • December 1864to January >

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

The Second Corps returned from the Army of the Valley in December of 1864. Lieutenant General Jubal Early remained in command of Confederate forces in the Valley, so Major General John B. Gordon took temporary command of the corps. This eventually became permanent when it became clear that Early would not be returning.

1st Virginia Battalion Major D.B. Bridgford Provost Guard
39th Virginia Cavalry Batalion Major John H. Richardson Couriers
First Corps Lieutenant General James Longstreet
Field’s Division Major General Charles W. Field
Kershaw’s Division Major General Joseph B. Kershaw
Pickett’s Division Major General George E. Pickett
Reserve Artillery Brigadier General Edward Porter Alexander
Second Corps Major General John B. Gordon
Early’s Division Brigadier General  John Pegram
Gordon’s Division Brigadier General Clement A. Evans
Grimes’ Division Major General Brian Grimes
Reserve Artillery Brigadier General Armistead Long
Third Corps Lieutenant General Ambrose Powell Hill
Heth’s Division Major General Henry Heth
Mahone’s Division Brigadier General William Mahone
Wilcox’s Division Major General Cadmus Wilcox
Reserve Artillery Colonel R. Lindsay Walker
Anderson’s Corps Lieutenant General Richard H. Anderson
Johnson’s Division Major General Bushrod R. Johnson
Hoke’s Division Major General Robert F. Hoke to North Carolina
Artillery Reserve Colonel Hilary P. Jones
Cavalry Corps Major General Wade Hampton 
Hampton’s Division Brigadier General Matthew C. Butler
W.H.F. Lee’s Division Major General W.H.F. Lee
Stuart Horse Artillery Major R. Preston Chew

from Official Records, Series 1, vol. 42, Part 3, p. 1238