Confederate Regiments & BatteriesGeorgia

March 17 The battalion was created as the 3rd Georgia Battalion at Camp Stevens with four companies from Macon and Sumter Counties under the command of Major John E. Rylander. It was later redesignated as the 10th Georgia Battalion. Assigned to the Military District of Georgia, Department of South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida.

Company A: Macon County Guards (Macon County), Captain James Frederick
Company B: Worth Rebels (Worth County), Captain Daniel Henderson
Company C: Zollicoffer Rifles (Sumter County), Captain B. F. Bell
Company D: Whittle Guards (Bibb County), Captain William L. Jones

May-December Guarded prisoners and military supplies at Camp Oglethorpe in Macon.
July A fifth company was added to the battalion:
Company E: Granberry Guards (Sumter County), Captain John L. Adderton.
December Moved to Virginia and assigned to G.T. Anderson’s Brigade, Hood’s Division, 1st Corps, Army of Northern Virginia.
Suffolk Campaign
August-April Detached from Anderson’s Brigade and stationed at Franklin, Virginia.
May Assigned to Wright’s-Girardey’s-Sorrel’s Brigade, Mahone’s Division, 3rd Corps, Army of Northern Virginia.
June 1-3
Battle of Cold Harbor

Major Rylander was killed. Captain James D. Frederick of Company A was promoted to major and took command of the battalion.

Siege of Petersburg
August 16
Deep Bottom

Major Frederick was wounded in the leg. Captain Caleb Hill of Company A took command of the battalion.

August 21
Weldon Railroad
April 6
Battle of Sayler’s Creek
April 9
Appomattox Court House

The battalion surrendered four officers and 155 enlisted men.