Confederate States Army

< to August • September 1863to October >

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

Longstreet’s First Corps was detached from the army. Hood’s and McLaws’ Divisions were transferred by rail to the Western Theater and Pickett’s Division to the defenses around Richmond.

First Corps Lieutenant General James Longstreet
Hood’s Division Brigadier General Evander M. Law
Major General John B. Hood
to Western Theater
McLaws’ Division Major General Lafayette McLaws to Western Theater
Pickett’s Division Major General George E. Pickett to Richmond area
Artillery Reserve Colonel James B. Walton
Second Corps Lieutenant General Richard S. Ewell
Early’s Division Major General Jubal Early
Johnson’s Division Major General Edward Johnson
Rodes’ Division Major General Robert E. Rodes
Artillery Reserve Colonel John T. Brown
Third Corps Lieutenant General Ambrose Powell Hill
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson
Heth’s Division Major General Henry Heth
Wilcox’s Division Major General Cadmus Wilcox
Artillery Reserve Colonel Reuben L. Walker
Cavalry Division Major General James E. B. Stuart
Hampton’s Brigade Colonel Laurence S. Baker
F. Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General Fitzhugh Lee
W.H.F. Lee’s Brigade Colonel John R. Chambliss
Jones’ Brigade Brigadier General William E. Jones
Jenkins’ Brigade Brigadier General Albert G. Jenkins
Robertson’s Brigade Brigadier General Beverly H. Robertson
Imboden’s Command Brigadier General John Imboden
Stuart Horse Artillery Major Robert F. Beckham

O.R. Series 1, Vol. 29 Part 2 pp. 682