Confederate States Army

< to May • June 1863to July >

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

The Third Army Corps was created on June 1 under Lieutenant General A.P. Hill by transferring Anderson’s Division from the First Corps and A.P. Hill’s Division from the Second Corps. The army began its invasion of the North, fighting actions at Brandy Station and Winchester.

First Corps Lieutenant General James Longstreet
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson to 3rd Corps (below)
Hood’s Division Major General John B. Hood  
McLaws’ Division Major General Lafayette McLaws  
Pickett’s Division Major General George E. Pickett  
Second Corps Lieutenant General Richard Ewell
Early’s Division Major General Jubal Early  
A. P. Hill’s – Heth’s Division Brigadier General Henry Heth to 3rd Corps (below)
Johnson’s Division Major General Edward Johnson  
Rodes’ Division Major General Robert E. Rodes  
Third Corps Lieutenant General Ambrose Powell Hill
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson from 1 Corps
Heth’s Division Major General Henry Heth from 2 Corps
Pender’s Division Major General William D. Pender created 6/1
Cavalry Division Major General James E. B. Stuart  
Hampton’s Brigade Brigadier General Wade Hampton  
F. Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General Fitzhugh Lee  
W.H.F. Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General W.H.F. Lee (w 6/9)
Colonel John R. Chambliss
Jones’ Brigade Brigadier General William E. Jones  
Jenkins’ Brigade Brigadier General Albert G. Jenkins  
Robertson’s Brigade Brigadier General Beverly H. Robertson  
Imboden’s Command Brigadier General John Imboden from W Va. early June
Stuart Horse Artillery Major Robert F. Beckham