Confederate States Army Army of Northern Virginia

< to May •  June 1863to July >

Commanded by Lieutenant General Richard Ewell

The death of Jackson, the high casualties of Chancellorsville, and the transfer of A.P. Hill’s Division to the newly created Third Corps left a much smaller Second Corps on the eve of Lee’s second invasion of the north.

Early’s Division Major General Jubal Early  
Gordon’s Brigade Brigadier General John B. Gordon  
Hays’s Brigade Brigadier General Harry T. Hays  
Hoke’s Brigade Colonel Isaac Avery  
Smith’s Brigade Brigadier General William Smith  
Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel Hilary P. Jones  
Johnson’s Division Major General Edward Johnson
Stonewall Brigade Brigadier General James A. Walker officially designated “Stonewall Brigade” 5/30
Jones’ Brigade Brigadier General John M. Jones  
Nicholls’ Brigade Colonel Jesse M. Williams  
Steuart’s (Colston’s} Brigade Brigadier General George H. Steuart  
Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel R. Snowden Andrews (w 6/15)
Major Joseph W. Latimer
Rodes’ Division Major General Robert E. Rodes
Daniel’s Brigade Brigadier General Junius Daniel  
Doles’ Brigade Brigadier General George P. Doles  
Iverson’s Brigade Brigadier General Alfred Iverson  
Ramseur’s Brigade Brigadier General Stephen D. Ramseur  
Rodes’ Brigade Colonel Edward A. O’Neal  
Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel Thomas H. Carter  
Reserve Artillery Colonel J. Thompson Brown   
1st Virginia Artillery Battalion Captain Willis J. Dance  
Powhattan (Va.) Artillery Lieutenant John M. Cunningham  
2nd Richmond (Va.) Howitzers Captain David Watson  
3rd Richmond (Va.) Howitzers Captain Benjamin H. Smith  
1st Rockbridge (Va.) Artillery Captain Archibald Graham  
Salem (Va.) Artillery Captain Charles B. Griffin  
Nelson’s Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel William Nelson  
Amherst (Va.) Artillery Captain Thomas J. Kirkpatrick  
Fluvanna (Va.) Artillery Captain John L. Massie  
Milledge’s Regular (Ga.) Battery Captain John Milledge