The United States Army

< to July • August 1864to September >

Commanded by Major General George Meade

Two of the three divisions of the Cavalry Corps were sent to the Army of the Shenandoah on August 8, 1864.


Headquarters Staff
Chief of Staff Major General Andrew A. Humphreys
Chief of Artillery Brigadier General Henry J. Hunt
Chief Engineer
Assistant Adjutant General Brigadier General Seth Williams
Inspector General
Chief Quartermaster Lieutenant Colonel Rufus Ingalls
Medical Director Surgeon Jonathan Letterman
Bureau of Military Information Colonel George H. Sharpe
Headquarters escort
Oneida (New York) Cavalry Company Captain Daniel P. Mann
Provost Guard Brigadier General Marsena L. Patrick
1st Massachusetts Cavalry, Cos. C&D
80th New York Infantry Regiment Colonel Jacob Hardenberg
3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment
68th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment
114th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment
Engineer Brigade Brigadier General Daniel Woodbury
15th New York Engineer Regiment Major Walter N. Cassin
50th New York Engineer Regiment Lieutenant Colonel William H. Pettes
Regular Engineer Battalion Captain George Henry Mendell

Second Corps

Major General Winfield S. Hancock
1st Division Brigadier General Nelson Miles
2nd Division Colonel T. A. Smythe (to 8/22)
Major General John Gibbon
3rd Division Brigadier General Gershom Mott

Fifth Corps

Major General Gouverneur K. Warren
1st Division Brigadier General Joseph J. Bartlett (to 8/9)
Brigadier General Charles Griffin
2nd Division Brigadier General Romeyn B. Ayres
3rd Division Brigadier General Samuel W. Crawford
4th Division Brigadier General Lysander Cutler (w 8/21)  discontinued 8/24

Ninth Corps

Major General Ambrose E. Burnside (to 8/14)
Major General John G. Parke
1st Division Brigadier General James Ledlie (to 8/6)
Brigadier General Julius White (to 8/28)
Brigadier General John Hartranft
2nd Division Brigadier General R. B. Potter
3rd Division Brigadier General Orlando B. Wilcox
4th Division Brigadier General Edward Ferrero

Cavalry Corps

Major General Philip H. Sheridan (to 8/2)
Brigadier General David McM. Gregg
(to 8/6)
Two divisions to Army of the Shenandoah on 8/8.
1st Division Brigadier General A. T. A. Torbert to Army of the Shenandoah 8/6
2nd Division Brigadier General David McM. Gregg (^ 8/2)
Colonel John I. Gregg (to 8/6)
Brigadier General David McM. Gregg
3rd Division Brigadier General James H. Wilson to Army of the Shenandoah 8/6

Artillery Reserve

4th Maine Independent Battery from 6 Corps Artillery
1st New Jersey Artillery, Battery A
3rd New York Independent Battery
4th New York Heavy Artillery to 1 Div. 2 Corps
15th New York Heavy Artillery, Co. F Washington
2nd Maine Battery from 9 Corps Artillery
3rd Maine Battery from 9 Corps Artillery
14th Massachusetts Battery from 9 Corps Artillery
1st Ohio Artillery, Battery H from 6 Corps Artillery
1st Rhode Island Artillery, Battery E from 6 Corps Artillery
5th United States Artillery, Battery E from 6 Corps Artillery