The United States Army

< to January • February 1864to March >

Commanded by Major General George Meade


Headquarters Staff
Chief of Staff Major General Andrew A. Humphreys
Chief of Artillery Brigadier General Henry J. Hunt
Chief Engineer
Assistant Adjutant General Brigadier General Seth Williams
Inspector General Colonel Delos B. Sacket
Chief Quartermaster Lieutenant Colonel Rufus Ingalls
Medical Director Surgeon Jonathan Letterman
Bureau of Information Colonel George H. Sharpe
Headquarters escort
Oneida (New York) Cavalry Company Captain Daniel P. Mann
Provost Guard Brigadier General Marsena L. Patrick
1st Maryland Cavalry Regiment Lieutenant Colonel James M. Deems to Middle Dept., 8 Corps, 3 Brig.
80th New York Infantry Regiment Colonel Jacob Hardenberg
93rd New York Infantry, Cos. AFH&K Colonel John S. Crocker
Engineer Brigade Brigadier General Daniel Woodbury
15th New York Engineer Regiment Major Walter N. Cassin
50th New York Engineer Regiment Lieutenant Colonel William H. Pettes
Regular Engineer Battalion Captain George Henry Mendell

First Corps

Major General John Newton
1st Division Brigadier General J.C. Rice (to 2/10)
Brigadier General Lysander Cutler
2nd Division Brigadier General John C. Robinson
3rd Division Brigadier General John Kenly

Second Corps

Major General Gouverneur Warren 
1st Division Brigadier General John C. Caldwell
2nd Division Major General John Gibbon
3rd Division Brigadier General Alexander Hays (to 2/10)
Brigadier General Joshua T. Owen

Third Corps

Major General David Birney (to 2/17)
Major General William H. French
1st Division Brigadier General J. H. H. Ward (to 2/17)
Major General David Birney
2nd Division Brigadier General Henry Prince
3rd Division Brigadier General W. L. Elliott

Fifth Corps

Major General George Sykes
1st Division Colonel Jacob B. Sweitzer (to 2/3)
Brigadier General Joseph J. Bartlett
2nd Division Brigadier General Romeyn B. Ayres
3rd Division Brigadier General Samuel W. Crawford (to 2/20)
Colonel William McCandless

Sixth Corps

Major General John Sedgwick
1st Division Brigadier General David A. Russell
2nd Division Brigadier General Thomas Neill (to 2/21)
Brigadier General H. L. Eustis

Cavalry Corps

Brigadier General David McM. Gregg (to 2/12)
Brigadier General Alfred Pleasonton

1st Division Brigadier General Wesley Merritt
2nd Division Colonel John P. Taylor (to 2/10)
Colonel C. H. Smith (to 2/12)
Brigadier General David McM. Gregg
3rd Division Brigadier General Judson Kilpatrick

Artillery Reserve

Brigadier General Robert O. Tyler
1st Brigade Lieutenant Colonel Freeman McGilvery
6th Maine Battery Lieutenant William H. Rogers
1st New York Artillery, Battery B  Captain Robert E. Rogers from unattached (below)
5th New York Independent Battery Captain Elijah D. Taft
1st West Virginia Artillery, Battery C Captain Wallace Hill
2nd Brigade Captain Elijah D. Taft
9th Massachusetts Battery Captain John Bigelow
1st New York Artillery, Battery K
11th New York Battery attached)
Lieutenant Edward L Baily
5th New York Independent Battery Captain Elijah D. Taft
15th New York Independent Battery Captain Patrick Hart
1st Ohio Artillery, Battery H from Unattached (below)
1st United States Artillery, Battery H 2nd Lieutenant Philip D. Mason
1st New Jersey Artillery, Battery A Captain William Hexamer
15th New York Heavy Artillery Colonel Louis Schirmer from 4 Brig. De Russy’s Div. 22 Corps
1st Ohio Artillery, Battery H to 2 Brig. (above)
Ammunition Guard
6th New York Heavy Artillery Colonel J. Howard Kitching