The United States Army

< to February • March 1865to April >

Commanded by Major General George G. Meade

The First and Third Divisions returned from the Army of the Shenandoah on March 25, 1865 and the Cavalry Corps was reconstituted.


Headquarters escort
Oneida (New York) Cavalry Company Captain James E. Jenkins
Provost Guard Brigadier General Marsena L. Patrick
8th Delaware Infantry Regiment to 5 Corps, 2 Div., 3 Brig.
1st Massachusetts Cavalry Rest of regt. joined Cos. C&D
80th New York Infantry Regiment Colonel Jacob Hardenberg to 9 Corps, Collis’ Independent Brig.
2nd Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment Colonel William W. Sanders from Cav. Corps, 2 Div., 2 Brig.
3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment
68th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment to 9 Corps, Collis’ Independent Brig.
114th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment to 9 Corps, Collis’ Independent Brig.
3rd United States Infantry Regiment from Defences of Washington
4th United States Infantry Regiment
11th United States Infantry Regiment from Annapolis, 8 Corps
Engineer Brigade Brigadier General Daniel Woodbury
Hall’s Michigan Sharpshooter Battalion
61st Massachusetts Infantry Regiment Colonel Charles F. Walcott to 9 Corps, Collis’ Independent Brig.
15th New York Engineer Regiment Major Walter N. Cassin
50th New York Engineer Regiment Lieutenant Colonel William H. Pettes
Regular Engineer Battalion Captain George Henry Mendell
Siege Artillery Brevet Brigadier General Henry L. Abbot
1st Connecticut Heavy Artillery Major George Ager from Dept. VA & NC
3rd Connecticut Independent Battery Captain Thomas S. Gilbert from Dept. VA & NC

Second Corps

Major General Andrew A. Humphreys 
1st Division Brigadier General Nelson Miles 
2nd Division Brigadier General William Hays
3rd Division Brigadier General Regis DeTrobriand (to 3/2)
Brigadier General Gershom Mott

Fifth Corps

Major General Gouverneur K. Warren 
1st Division Brigadier General Charles Griffin
2nd Division Brigadier General Romeyn B. Ayres
3rd Division Brigadier Major Samuel W. Crawford

Sixth Corps

Major General Horatio Wright
1st Division Brigadier General Frank Wheaton
2nd Division Brigadier General George W. Getty
3rd Division Brigadier General Truman Seymour

Ninth Corps

Major General John G. Parke
1st Division Colonel N. B. McLaughlin (to 3/7)
Brigadier General Orlando B. Wilcox
2nd Division Brigadier General Robert B. Potter
3rd Division Brigadier General John Hartranft

Cavalry Corps

Major General Wesley Merritt
1st Division Brigadier General Thomas C. Davis from Army of the Shenandoah
2nd Division Brigadier General John I. Gregg (to 3/14)
Brevet Major General Henry E. Davies (to 3/27)
Major General George Crook
3rd Division Brigadier General George A. Custer from Army of the Shenandoah

Artillery Reserve

2nd Maine Battery
3rd Maine Battery
4th Maine Battery
6th Maine Battery
1st New Jersey Artillery, Battery C
12th New York Independent Battery
1st Ohio Artillery, Battery H Captain Stephen W. Dorsey
1st Pennsylvania Artillery, Battery F Lieutenant John Campbell
5th United States Artillery, Batteries C&I