Confederate States ArmyArmy of Northern Virginia

July 1862 • August >

Longstreet commanded several divisions of the army during the Northern Virginia Campaign. To ease his command burden when the senior brigadier, Richard Anderson was given his own division, Longstreet divided his division between the two next senior brigade commanders, Kemper and Wilcox, giving each three brigades. Although these divisions were both temporary, Longstreet’s Division was never reconstituted.

Commanded by Brigadier General Cadmus M. Wilcox

Featherston’s Brigade Brigadier General Winfield S. Featherston  
2nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment Major William S. Wilson from Featherston’s Brig.,
Longstreet’s Division
12th Mississippi Infantry Regiment Colonel William H. Taylor
16th Mississippi Infantry Regiment Colonel Carnot Posey
19th Mississippi Infantry Regiment Captain Nathaniel H. Harris
Pryor’s Brigade Brigadier General Roger A. Pryor  
14th Alabama Infantry Regiment Colonel Thomas J. Judge (res. 7/10)
Colonel George Wood
from Pryor’s Brigade,
Longstreet’s Division
2nd Florida Infantry Regiment Lieutenant Colonel Lewis G. Pyles
14th Louisiana Infantry Regiment Colonel Richard W. Jones
3rd Virginia Infantry Regiment Colonel Joseph Mayo
Wilcox’s Brigade Brigadier General Cadmus M. Wilcox
8th Alabama Infantry Regiment Lieutenant Colonel Hilary A. Herbert from Wilcox’s Brigade,
Longstreet’s Division
9th Alabama Infantry Regiment Major Jere H. J. Williams
10th Alabama Infantry Regiment Major John H. Caldwell
11th Alabama Infantry Regiment Captain John C. C. Sanders
Saunder’s Artillery Battalion Major John S. Saunders
Donaldsonville (LA) Artillery Captain Victor Auguste Maurin from Longstreet’s Division
Dixie (VA) Artillery Captain William H. Chapman
Richmond Thomas (VA) Artillery Captain Edwin J. Anderson