The United States Army

< to May • June 1864to July >

Commanded by Major General George Meade


Headquarters Staff
Chief of Staff Major General Andrew A. Humphreys
Chief of Artillery Brigadier General Henry J. Hunt
Chief Engineer
Assistant Adjutant General Brigadier General Seth Williams
Inspector General Colonel Delos B. Sacket
Chief Quartermaster Lieutenant Colonel Rufus Ingalls
Medical Director Surgeon Jonathan Letterman
Bureau of Information Colonel George H. Sharpe
Headquarters escort
Oneida (New York) Cavalry Company Captain Daniel P. Mann
4th United States Infantry Regiment from 1 Brig. 2 Div. 5 Corps 6/22
Provost Guard Brigadier General Marsena L. Patrick
1st Massachusetts Cavalry, Cos. C&D
80th New York Infantry Regiment Colonel Jacob Hardenberg
3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment
68th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment
114th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment
Engineer Brigade Brigadier General Daniel Woodbury
15th New York Engineer Regiment Major Walter N. Cassin
50th New York Engineer Regiment Lieutenant Colonel William H. Pettes
Regular Engineer Battalion Captain George Henry Mendell

Second Corps

Major General Winfield S. Hancock
1st Division Brigadier General Francis C. Barlow
2nd Division Major General John Gibbon
3rd Division Major General David B. Birney (^ 6/18)
Brigadier General Gershom Mott (to 6/27)
Major General David B. Birney

Fifth Corps

Major General Gouverneur K. Warren
1st Division Brigadier General Charles Griffin
2nd Division Brigadier General Henry H. Lockwood (to 6/2)
Samuel W. Crawford (to 6/5)
Brigadier General Romeyn B. Ayres
3rd Division Brigadier General Samuel W. Crawford reconstituted 6/5
4th Division Brigadier General Lysander Cutler

Sixth Corps

Major General Horatio Wright
1st Division Brigadier General David A. Russell
2nd Division Brigadier General Thomas Neill
Brigadier General Frank Wheaton (to 6/21)
Brigadier General George W. Getty (6/28)
3rd Division Brigadier General James B. Ricketts

Ninth Corps

Major General Ambrose E. Burnside
1st Division Major General Thomas L. Crittenden (to 6/9)
Brigadier General James Ledlie
2nd Division Brigadier General Robert B. Potter
3rd Division Brigadier General Orlando B. Wilcox
4th Division Brigadier General Edward Ferrero

Cavalry Corps

Major General Philip H. Sheridan
1st Division Brigadier General A. T. A. Torbert
2nd Division Brigadier General David McM. Gregg
3rd Division Brigadier General James H. Wilson