United States Army

< to March • April 1862 • to May >

Commanded by Major General George B. McClellan

On April 4, 1862 General McClellan’s command was split, with the First Corps transferred to the newly-created Department of the Rappahannock and the Fifth Corps to the Department of the Shenandoah.

First Corps Major General Irvin McDowell to Dept. Rappahannock 4/4
First Division Brig. Gen. Willliam B. Franklin
Second Division Brig. Gen. George A. McCall
Third Division Brig. Gen. Rufus King
Second Corps Brigadier General Edwin V. Sumner
First Division Brig. Gen. Israel B. Richardson
Second Division Brig. Gen. John Sedgwick
Third Corps Brigadier General Samuel P. Heintzelman
First Division Brig. Gen. Fitz John Porter
Second Division Brig. Gen. Joseph Hooker
Third Division Brig. Gen. C. Hamilton (to 4/30)
Brig. Gen. Philip Kearney
Fourth Corps Brigadier General Erasmus Keyes
First Division Brig. Gen. Darius N. Couch
Second Division Brig. Gen. William F. Smith
Third Division Brig. Gen. Silas Casey
Fifth Corps Major General Nathaniel Banks to Dept. Shenandoah 4/4
First Division Brig. Gen. Alpheus S. Williams
Second Division Brig. Gen. John Shields
Cavalry Command Brig. Gen. John P. Hatch
Cavalry Reserve Brigadier General Philip St. George Cooke
First Brigade Colonel William H. Emory
Second Brigade Colonel George A. H. Blake
Artillery Reserve Colonel Henry J. Hunt
Military District of Washington Brig. Gen. James Wadsworth to Dept. Rappahannock 4/4