United States Army > Army of the Shenendoah

< to July • August 1864 • to September >

Commanded by Major General Horatio Wright

Transferred from the Defences of Washington to the Middle Military Division – Department of the Shenandoah on August 6, 18664

8th Pennsylvania Cavalry, Co. A Captain Charles E. Fellows
First Division Brigadier General D. A. Russell
First Brigade Colonel W. H. Penrose
Second Brigade Colonel Emory Upton
Third Brigade Colonel Oliver Edwards
Second Division Brigadier General G. W. Getty
First Brigade Brigadier General Frank Wheaton
Second Brigade Colonel Lewis A. Grant
Third Brigade Colonel D. D. Bidwell
Third Division Brigadier General John B. Ricketts
First Brigade Colonel William Emerson
Second Brigade Colonel J. F. Stanton (to 8/26)
Colonel J. W. Keifer
Artillery Brigadier General Calvin E. Pratt
5th Maine Independent Battery
1st Massachusets Independent Battery Captain William H. McCartney
1st New York Independent Battery Captain Andrew Cowan
1st Rhode Island Artillery, Battery C Lieutenant Jacob H. Lamb
1st Rhode Island Artillery, Battery G Captain George W. Adams
5th United States Artillery, Battery M Captain James McKnight