United States Army > Army of the Potomac

< to February March 1864

Commanded by Major General William H. French

The Third Corps was discontinued on March 24th, 1864. The First and Second Divisions were transferred to the Second Corps and the Third Division to the Sixth Corps.

First Division Major General David Birney
1st Brigade Colonel Charles H. T. Collis  to 2nd Corps, 3rd Division
2nd Brigade Brigadier General J. H. Hobart Ward
3rd Brigade Colonel T. W. Egan
Second Division Brigadier General Henry Prince
1st Brigade Colonel William Blaisdell  to 2nd Corps, 4th Division
2nd Brigade Colonel W. R. Brewster
3rd Brigade Colonel G. C. Burling
Brigadier General Gershom Mott
Third Division Brigadier General W. L. Elliott
1st Brigade Colonel W. H. Morris to 6th Corps, 3rd Division
2nd Brigade Colonel J. W. Keiffer
3rd Brigade Colonel B. F. Smith
4th Maine Battery Captain O’Neal W. Robinson, Jr. to 6th Corps Artillery
10th Massachusetts Battery Captain J. Henry Slepper to 2nd Corps Artillery
1st New Hampshire Battery Captain Frederick M. Edgell to 2nd Corps Artillery
1st New Jersey Artillery, Battery B Captain A. Judson Clark to Army Artillery Reserve, 2 Brig.
1st New York Artillery, Battery D Captain George B. Winslow to 5th Corps Artillery
12th New York Independent Battery Lieutenant George K. Dauchy to Army Artillery Reserve, 2 Brig.
1st Rhode Island Artillery, Battery E to 6th Corps Artillery
4th United States Artillery, Battery K Lieutenant Robert James to 2nd Corps Artillery