April 1862 • to May >

Commanded by Brigadier General Alpheus S. Williams

On April 4, 1862 the 1st Division of the 5th Corps was redesignated as the 1st Division of the Department of the Shenandoah.

First Brigade Colonel Dudley Donnelly
5th Connecticut Infantry Regiment Lt. Col. George Chapman (Col. 4/7)
10th Maine Infantry Regiment Colonel George L. Beal
1st Maryland Infantry Regiment Colonel John R. Kenly
28th New York Infantry Regiment Colonel Dudley Donnelly
28th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment Colonel John Geary (to 4/25)
Colonel Gabriel De Korponay
46th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment Colonel Joseph F. Knipe
Second Brigade Brigadier General  J. J. Abercrombie (to 4/30)
Brigadier General George Hartsuff
12th Indiana Infantry Regiment
16th Indiana Infantry Regiment
12th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment Colonel Fletcher Webster
13th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment Colonel Samuel H. Leonard
Third Brigade Colonel John W. Stiles
27th Indiana Infantry Regiment Colonel Silas Colgrove
2nd Massachusetts Infantry Regiment Colonel George H. Gordon
9th New York State Militia Regiment Colonel John W. Stiles
29th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment Colonel John K. Murphy
3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment
Artillery and Cavalry
Battery M, 1st New York Artillery
Battery F, 1st Pennsylvania Artillery
Pennsylvania Independent Battery F
Battery F, 4th United States Artillery