Confederate States Army

< to September • October 1862to November >

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

Longstreet’s Command Major General James Longstreet (Lieutenant General 10/9)
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson
Hood’s Division Brigadier General John B. Hood
Jones’ Division Major General David R. Jones (as of 10/11) dissolved due to Jones’ health
McLaws’ Division Major General Lafayette McLaws
Pickett’s Division Brigadier General George Pickett
Walker’s Division Brigadier General John G. Walker
Evan’s Independent Brigade Brigadier General Nathan G. Evans
Artillery Reserve Colonel James B. Walton
Jackson’s Command Major General Thomas J. Jackson (Lieutenant General 10/9)
Ewell’s Division Brigadier General Jubal Early
A. P. Hill’s Division Major General Ambrose Powell Hill
D.H. Hill’s Division Major General Daniel Harvey Hill
Jackson’s Division Major General W. B. Talliaferro
Artillery Reserve Colonel Stapleton Crutchfield
Cavalry Division Major General James E. B. Stuart
Hampton’s Brigade Brigadier General Wade Hampton
F. Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General Fitzhugh Lee
W.H.F. Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General W.H.F. Lee created 10/3
Jones’ (Robertson’s) Brigade Colonel Thomas T. Munford (to 10/3)
Brigadier General William E. Jones
Stuart Horse Artillery Captain John Pelham
Artillery Reserve Brigadier General William N. Pendleton
First Virginia Artillery Battalion Colonel J. Thompson Brown
Nelson’s Artillery Battalion Major William Nelson
Richardson’s Artillery Battalion Major Charles Richardson
Sumter Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel Allen S. Cutts