Confederate States Army Army of Northern Virginia

< to September •  October 1862to November >

Commanded by Major General Thomas J. Jackson

Ewell’s Division Brigadier General Jubal Early
Early’s Brigade Colonel James A. Walker  
Hays’s Brigade Brigadier General Harry T. Hays  
Lawton’s Brigade Colonel Edmund N. Atkinson  
Trimble’s Brigade Colonel Robert Hoke  
Artillery Captain Arthur R. Courtney  
A. P. Hill’s Division Major General Ambrose Powell Hill  
Archer’s Brigade Brigadier General James J. Archer  
Field’s Brigade Colonel John M. Brockenbrough  
Gregg’s Brigade Brigadier General Maxcy Gregg  
Branch’s Brigade Colonel James H. Lane  
Pender’s Brigade Brigadier General William Dorsey Pender  
J.R. Anderson’s Brigade Colonel Edward L. Thomas  
Artillery Lieutenant Colonel Reuben Lindsay Walker  
D.H. Hill’s Division Brigadier General Daniel Harvey Hill  
G.B. Anderson’s Brigade Colonel R. T. Bennett  
Colquitt’s Brigade Brigadier General Alfred H. Colquitt  
Garland’s Brigade Colonel Duncan K. MacRae  
Ripley’s Brigade Colonel George P. Doles  
Rodes’ Brigade Brigadier General Robert E. Rodes  
Artillery Major Scipio Pierson  
Jackson’s Division Brigadier General William B. Talliaferro  
(Stonewall) Brigade Brigadier General Elisha F. Paxton  
Jones’ Brigade Brigadier General John R. Jones  
Stark’s Brigade Colonel Edmund Pendleton  
Talliaferro’s Brigade Colonel Edward T. H. Warren  
Artillery Captain John B. Brockenbrough  
Unattached Artillery    
Dixie (VA) Artillery Captain William Henry Chapman disbanded 10/4
Winchester (VA) Battery Captain Wilfred Emory Cutshaw Consolidated with  Alleghany Artillery 10/2
Yorktown Magruder (VA) Artillery Captain Thomas Jefferson Page, Jr. disbanded 10/4