Confederate States Army

< to May • June 1862to July >

Commanded by:
Major General Gustavus Smith (6/1)
General Robert E. Lee

On June 1, 1862, General Robert E. Lee took over the army from General Joseph E. Johnston, wounded in the Battle of Seven Pines (or Glendale) on May 31, and Major General Gustavus Smith, who had taken over as Johnston’s second in command but whose health, already poor, broke down completely under the responsibility of army command.

After Seven Pines McClellan halted his advance against Richmond and dug in to defensive positions. This gave Lee several weeks to reorganize and get the feel for his new command. On June 26 Lee attacked in what would be known as the Seven Days battles, throwing McClellan back from Richmond and destroying his will to fight, if not his army.

Longstreet’s Command Major General James Longstreet
A. P. Hill’s Division Major General Ambrose Powell Hill from Unattached (below) 6/29
D.H. Hill’s Division Major General Daniel Harvey Hill from Unattached (below) 6/22
Huger’s Division Major General Benjamin Huger from Unattached (below)
Longstreet’s Division Brigadier General Richard H. Anderson
Jackson’s Command Major General Thomas J. Jackson arrived 6/25 from Valley District
Ewell’s Division Major General Richard S. Ewell
Jackson’s Division Major General Thomas J. Jackson
Magruder’s Command Major General John B. Magruder
Jones’ Division Brigadier General David R. Jones
Magruder’s Division Brigadier General Howell Cobb
McLaws’ Division Major General Lafayette McLaws
A.P. Hill’s Division Major General Ambrose Powell Hill to Longstreet’s Command (above) 6/29
Anderson’s Brigade Brigadier General J.R. Anderson
Archer’s Brigade Brigadier General James J. Archer from Whiting’s Division 6/11
Branch’s Brigade Brigadier General L. O’Brien Branch
Field’s Brigade Brigadier General Charles W. Field
Gregg’s Brigade Brigadier General Maxcey Gregg
D. H. Hill’s Division Major General Daniel Harvey Hill to Longstreet’s Command (above) 6/22
Early’s Brigade Brigadier General Jubal A. Early
Featherston’e Brigade Brigadier General Winfield S. Featherston
Rains’ Brigade Brigadier General Gabriel J. Rains
Rodes’ Brigade Brigadier General Robert E. Rodes
Huger’s Division Major General Benjamin Huger to Longstreet’s Command (above)
First Brigade Brigadier General William Mahone
Second Brigade Brigadier General Ambrose R. Wright
Third Brigade Brigadier General Lewis A. Armistead
Ransom’s Brigade Brigadier General Robert Ransom from Holmes’ Division
Holmes’ Division Major General Theophilus H. Holmes
First Brigade Colonel Junius Daniel
Second Brigade Brigadier General John George Walker
Wise’s Command Brigadier General Henry A. Wise
Brigadier General W.H.C. Whiting to Valley District 6/11
Hood’s Brigade Brigadier General John B. Hood
Whiting’s Brigade Brigadier General W.H.C. Whiting
Cavalry Brigade Brigadier General James E. B. Stuart
1st North Carolina Cavalry Regiment Colonel Laurence S. Baker
1st Virginia Cavalry Regiment Colonel Fitzhugh Lee
3rd Virginia Cavalry Regiment Colonel Thomas F. Goode
4th Virginia Cavalry Regiment Lt. Colonel Williams C. Wickham
5th Virginia Cavalry Regiment Colonel Thomas L. Rosser
9th Virginia Cavalry Regiment Colonel W. H. F. Lee
10th Virginia Cavalry Regiment Colonel James L. Davis
Cobb’s (Ga.) Legion Cavalry Colonel Thomas R.R. Cobb
Hampton Legion (SC) Cavalry Major Matthew C. Butler
Jefferson Davis (Ms.) Legion Lt. Colonel William T. Martin
Stuart Horse Artillery Captain John Pelham
Artillery Reserve Brigadier General William N. Pendleton
First Virginia Artillery Battalion Colonel J. Thompson Brown
Nelson’s Artillery Battalion Major William Nelson
Richardson’s Artillery Battalion Major Charles Richardson
Sumter Artillery Battalion Lt. Colonel Allen S. Cutts