Confederate States Army

< to July • August 1862to September >

Commanded by General Robert E. Lee

Lee sent Jackson’s Command north to block Pope’s advance, then followed with Longstreet’s Command. Gustavus Smith returned from his sick leave and was left with three divisions to watch McClellan on the Peninsula. After McClellan evacuated his army from the Richmond area the three divisions were brought north and assigned to Longstreet and Jackson at beginning of the Maryland Campaign.

Longstreet’s Command Major General James Longstreet
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson  
Hood’s (Whiting’s) Division Brigadier General John B. Hood  
Jones’s Division Brigadier General David R. Jones from Magruder’s Command
Kemper’s Division Brigadier General James Kemper to Jones’ Division
Wilcox’s Division Brigadier General Cadmus Wilcox to Jones’ Division
Evan’s Independent Brigade Brigadier General Nathan G. Evans  
Jackson’s Command Major General Thomas J. Jackson  
Ewell’s Division Major General Richard S. Ewell (w 8/28)
Brigadier General Alexander R. Lawton
A. P. Hill’s Division Major General Ambrose Powell Hill  
Jackson’s Division Major General Thomas J. Jackson  
Robertson’s Cavalry Brigade Brigadier General Beverly Robertson to Cavalry Division 8/17 (below)
Smith’s Command Major General Gustavus Smith (from 8/14)
Anderson’s Division Major General Richard H. Anderson at Drewry’s Bluff; to Longstreet’s Command (above)
D.H. Hill’s Division Major General Daniel Harvey Hill to Jackson’s Commmand (above)
McLaws’ Division Major General Lafayette McLaws to Jackson’s Commmand (above)
Cavalry Division Major General James E. B. Stuart  
Hampton’s Brigade Brigadier General Wade Hampton  
Lee’s Brigade Brigadier General Fitzhugh Lee  
Robertson’s Brigade Brigadier General Beverly Robertson from Jackson’s Command 8/17 (above)
Artillery Reserve Brigadier General William N. Pendleton
First Virginia Artillery Battalion Colonel J. Thompson Brown  
Nelson’s Artillery Battalion Major William Nelson  
Richardson’s Artillery Battalion Major Charles Richardson  
Sumter Artillery Battalion Lieutenant Colonel Allen S. Cutts